NAIAS Names Poster Contest Winners from More Than 750 Entries

* See winning poster below

The North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) has selected the winners of its 31st annual poster contest-a creative competition that drew more than 750 entries from 58 schools.

Open to Michigan sophomore, junior and senior students, the contest is designed to give young artists the chance to be part of one of the largest auto shows in the world while earning a cash prize.

“This next generation’s creativity and talent is unparalleled from what we’ve ever seen before, and I feel honored to be a part of an organization giving students a platform to let that talent shine,” said Bill Golling, 2019 NAIAS chairman. “Each submission showcased the student’s ability to use their imagination and create something entirely their own. Picking winners was certainly a tough decision.”

Elizabeth Lu, a 12th-grade student at Plymouth Canton Salem High School, was awarded the Chairman’s Award-the grand prize of the competition-earning $1,000. Savannah Bachert, a 12th-grade student at Careerline Tech Center, received $1,000 as winner of the State Farm Award.

Lu and Bachert’s winning posters will be posted on the NAIAS website and displayed during the NAIAS Public Show, Jan. 19-27.

In addition to the Chairman and State Farm Awards, winners were selected in the following categories and presented cash prizes.

Winners who received a $500 prize:

  • Designer’s Best of Show – Traditional: Teaghan Holman, Dexter High School
  • Designer’s Best of Show – Digital Award: Tristen Elert, William D. Ford Career-Tech
  • First Place – 10th Grade Award: Yahir Tellez Mondragon, Novi High School
  • First Place – 11th Grade Award: Simon Potter, Careerline Tech Center
  • First Place – 12th Grade Award: Spencer Barrer, Royal Oak High School

Winners who received a $250 prize:

  • Most Creative Award: Jacqueline Pagano, Warren Career Preparation Center
  • Best Theme Award: Kellen Walburn, Howell High School
  • Best Use of Color Award: Ellyana Wills, Bloomfield Hills High School
  • Second Place – 10th Grade Award: Kirsten Smith, Howell High School
  • Second Place – 11th Grade Award: Nathaniel Turbyfill, Buchanan High School
  • Second Place – 12th Grade Award: Erin McVety, Warren Career Preparation Center

Winners who received a $100 prize:

  • Third Place – 10th Grade Award: Darja Matlahova, Rochester Adams High School
  • Third Place – 11th Grade Award: Abraham Tellez Mondragon, Novi High School
  • Third Place – 12th Grade Award: Jo Chelar, William D. Ford Career-Tech

The posters were reviewed and judged by the 2019 NAIAS chairman, a General Motors automotive designer, a College for Creative Studies instructor and State Farm representatives.

NAIAS, which includes special programs and a nine-day public show,  is now in its 31st year as an international event.

NAIAS Poster Winner

Related Articles

Back to top button