Piston Foundation Names 2023 Scholarship Recipients

Piston Foundation Names 2023 Scholarship Recipients | THE SHOPThe Piston Foundation has awarded 23 scholarships to students who are training for careers in automotive restoration, collection management and vintage motorsports, the organization announced.

This year, the Foundation saw a significant increase in the quantity and diversity of scholarship applications compared to the initiative’s inaugural year in 2022, representative said. Twenty-three recipients were chosen from among 130 applicants, in 37 states, attending 27 different schools. There are also six returning scholars, each having been one of the initial 10 to receive an award last year.

“It’s not true that young people aren’t interested in working in collector car restoration. Our 2023 Piston Scholars are proof,” said Piston Foundation founder Robert Minnick. “Each of our scholarship recipients is knowledgeable and passionate about classic cars. Our mission is to help them, and other future technicians, get the education and training they need to build their careers.”

Piston scholars receive scholarships ranging from $3,750 to $5,000. The scholarships help pay tuition at the automotive school of their choice. This can be any accredited two- or four-year institution.

The 2023 scholarships are funded by the Cars For Piston Scholars campaign, which raises scholarship funds through collector car donations, the foundation said.

Applications for 2024 scholarships will be available in January 2024.

The 2023 Piston Scholars:

  • Lindzie Archer, McPherson, Kan. (McPherson College)
  • Nigel Bannister, Seattle, Wash. (University of Northwestern Ohio)
  • Lucas Beasley, Canton, Kan. (McPherson College)
  • Edwin Buiter, Ireton, Iowa (McPherson College)
  • Zoe Carmichael, Raleigh, N.C. (McPherson College)
  • Joe Estevez, West Palm Beach, Fla. (North Palm Beach State College)
  • Jasper Fedders, Sioux Center, Iowa (McPherson College)
  • Connor Hecei, Warren, Pa. (Pennsylvania College of Technology)
  • Ethan Heck, Murfreesboro, Tenn. (Lanier Technical College)
  • Adam Hughes, Newman Lake, Wash. (McPherson College)
  • Cody Kuss, Bremerton, Wash. (McPherson College)
  • Carlos Leandry, McPherson, Kan. (McPherson College)
  • Dryden Powell, Council Grove, Kan. (McPherson College)
  • Alexander Riddle, Kingston, Mass. (Pennsylvania College of Technology)
  • Philip Schieffelin, Limon, Colo. (McPherson College)
  • Robert Schonberner, Omaha, Neb. (McPherson College)
  • Riley Sojka, Wichita, Kan. (McPherson College)
  • Blake Swingle, Columbus, Ohio (McPherson College)
  • Elias Vasquez, Irving, Texas (McPherson College)
  • Sean Whetstone, Fort Collins, Colo. (McPherson College)
  • Samuel White, Topeka, Kan. (McPherson College)
  • Zachary Wiernusz, Mountain Top, Pa. (Pennsylvania College of Technology)
  • Jace Willard, Palm City, Fla. (Indian River State College)

Click here for more information on the program.

A.J. Hecht

A.J. Hecht is the managing editor of THE SHOP and host of the In Gear with THE SHOP podcast. Have an idea, a tip, or a question you’d like to see answered? Contact A.J. at

Related Articles

Back to top button