Nitto Tire Sweeps Formula DRIFT Championship Podium

Nitto Tire, a manufacturer of off-road and street performance tires, has announced that Team Nitto driver Vaughn Gittin Jr. has earned the 2020 Formula DRIFT championship title. Nitto drivers Chelsea DeNofa, Ryan Tuerck and Fredric Aasbø finished second, third and fourth in the championship hunt. This achievement makes Nitto Tire the first tire manufacturer to sweep the top four positions in Formula DRIFT history, the company said.

Team Nitto drivers secured six race wins and fifteen podiums during the 2020 Formula DRIFT season, and these results earned Nitto Tire the 2020 Formula DRIFT Tire Cup. Vaughn Gittin Jr. used the high-performance Nitto NT555 G2 tire to propel himself to the top of the championship standings.

Gittin Jr. secured race wins at rounds three and four in Monroe, Washington, which helped him establish a lead in the points standings heading into the second half of the season. Following a hard-fought battle against a determined field of competitors at the season finale in Irwindale, California, Vaughn secured enough points to take home the win in the season points championship.

“Everyone at Nitto Tire is extremely proud of Vaughn,” said Harry Kong, brand publishing manager for Nitto Tire. “Despite the challenges 2020 has provided, he persevered throughout the season to emerge victoriously. With a car making the power of a nine-second drag car, having the right tire that delivers predictable grip run after run was paramount to his victory, and the Nitto NT555 G2 was definitely up to the challenge.”

Related Articles

Back to top button