NASCAR, iRacing Create Virtual College Racing Series

NASCAR and iRacing have partnered with NACE Starleague to create the eNASCAR College iRacing Series, the organizations announced, to bring virtual racing to college students across the United States and Canada this spring.

The top 32 eligible drivers in three separate time attacks will qualify to represent their universities in races at the virtual Daytona International Speedway, Charlotte Motor Speedway and Watkins Glen International over a three-month span. Additional events will be announced in conjunction with the fall semester to bring the total prize pool to $50,000 in scholarships.

To be eligible to compete, drivers must register through iRacing and post a time in each race’s corresponding Time Attack session on the iRacing UI. The Daytona time attack is open now and runs through Feb. 21, the Charlotte time attack runs from March 7-21, and the Watkins Glen time attack runs from April 10-24. The fastest 32 eligible drivers, who must prove their eligibility and attendance at an accredited university through event registration, will then be selected to run the race.

The schedule of eNASCAR College iRacing Series races is as follows:

  • Feb. 24: Daytona International Speedway (60 laps)
  • March 24: Charlotte Motor Speedway (80 laps)
  • April 27: Watkins Glen International (30 laps)

Each event will utilize NASCAR Camping World Truck Series vehicles. Students will compete with NASCAR Camping World Truck Series vehicles emblazoned with their school branding.

Click here for more information.

Related Articles

Back to top button