Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Announces 2025 Induction Class

The group of seven members includes Ed Iskenderian, Carl Hass & Bill Stroppe...

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) announced its 2025 Induction Class at the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach. The 37th Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Celebration presented by Toyota Racing, which will formally present the “Class of ’25” into the Hall of Fame of ALL motorsports, will be held in the MSHFA’s home in Daytona Beach, Florida, March 10-11, 2025.

The unveiling was made by MSHFA President George Levy who was joined by American auto racing legend Mario Andretti (MSHFA Class of 1990) and inductee Barber, who ably represented the Class of ’25 and its six other “Heroes of Horsepower” confirmed so far to be ushered into the MSHFA next March.

“I tip my hat to all of the voters who make the incredibly difficult choices among hundreds of nominees each year. We can’t wait to welcome the Class of ’25 into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America next March. The preparations begin now, and we also want to thank our friends at Acura, the Grand Prix Association of Long Beach and the NTT INDYCAR SERIES for once again opening the door for us to make this announcement today at the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach,” said Levy.

Each of the MSHFA’s inductees is elected by a straight vote of 200-plus motorsports experts — half of them inductees themselves. Regular voters include Andretti, Don Garlits (MSHFA Class of 1989), Chip Ganassi (MSHFA Class of 2016), Tom D’Eath (MSHFA Class of 2000), Scott Parker (MSHFA Class of 2009), Richard Petty (MSHFA Class of 1989), Don Prudhomme (MSHFA Class of 1991), Rusty Wallace (MSHFA Class of 2014) and other titans of the sport.

The Class of ’25 honorees will be formally brought into the hall in the 37th Annual Induction Ceremony Presented by Toyota Racing. The induction ceremony, which was sold out for the Class of 2024 celebration, will be preceded on Monday, March 10, by the traditional “Heroes of Horsepower” reception and strolling dinner at the MSHFA Museum on the grounds of Daytona International Speedway. PNC Bank sponsored this year’s Heroes of Horsepower reception.

Daytime events include the annual Inductee welcome luncheon on Monday, presented by Firestone for the Class of 2023, and the annual inductee brunch on Tuesday morning. 2024’s historic inductees will be ushered into the MSHFA as a featured highlight of the brunch, which was sponsored by American Honda this year.

Through last month’s Class of 2024 induction, 297 Heroes of Horsepower are currently in the MSHFA, a number that will grow to 306 with the 37th Induction Class.

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Class of 2025:

Skip Barber (1936-) — John “Skip” Barber III won three consecutive SCCA national titles, then founded and ran the famed Skip Barber Racing School, guiding a generation of racers. Later he became owner/operator of Lime Rock Park. Barber began racing in 1958 while a student at Harvard. He won back-to-back SCCA Formula Ford national crowns in 1969 and ’70 and a third straight title the following year in Formula B. He entered six F1 races, with a best finish of 16th at the 1972 US Grand Prix. The Philadelphia native started his driving school in 1975. It quickly became known as one of the best in the world.

Miguel Duhamel (1968-) — Quebec-born Duhamel is the third-winningest rider in AMA Superbike history (32 wins) and a five-time Daytona 200 winner (1991, ’96, ’99, 2003, 2005). As of 2024, he’s tied with fellow nominee Scott Russell for all-time Daytona 200 triumphs. Throughout his career, Duhamel won the 1995 AMA Superbike championship, five AMA Supersport titles, two Formula Xtreme crowns and the 1991 Bol d’Or 24 hour. In all, he scored 86 AMA wins, a record 40 in Supersport. He won his first Superbike race in 1990, a victory that helped propel him to AMA Superbike Rookie of the Year. He took his first Daytona 200 the following season.

Carl Haas (1929-2016) — Best known for his multi-championship-winning Newman/Haas Racing IndyCar team and Formula 5000, Can-Am and Super Vee titles, Haas also fielded an American Formula 1 effort. The Chicagoan began racing sports cars in 1952, giving up driving in the ‘60s to focus on team ownership and related businesses. In 1967, he became U.S. importer for Lola cars and Hewland gearboxes. In 1983, he formed Newman/Haas Racing with 2024 inductee Paul Newman. With 11 titles over three decades, USA Today called him one of the “most powerful men in the history of auto racing.”

Ed Iskenderian (1921-) — The “Camfather” was born July 10, 1921, in Central California to Armenian parents. Young “Isky” was curious about mechanics and technology – his first job was repairing vacuum tube radios. He grew up around cars, particularly fascinated by the racy sounding, lightweight “gow job” hot rods he and his buddies saw around town. Coming home to Los Angeles after WW2 Air Force service, he befriended Ed Winfield (MSHFA Class of 2011) and began grinding his own hot camshafts and valve gear. He ran his Model T rod at the dry lakes and became a major player in the early days of Bonneville and the NHRA. Isky sponsored and supplied his speedware to racing icons including Garlits and Mickey Thompson (MSHFA Class of 1990), boat racers and the early days of NASCAR. Iskenderian Racing Cams became a major force in the performance industry, Ed serving as SEMA’s first president.

Dale Jarrett (1956-) — Jarrett turned down a full golf scholarship at the University of South Carolina to follow the chosen profession of his father Ned Jarrett (MSHFA Class of 1997). The 1999 NASCAR Cup Series champion collected three Daytona 500s (1993, 1996, 2000), 16 poles and 32 Cup victories. Only inductees Petty (7) and Cale Yarborough (MSHFA Class of 1994) with four victories have won more Daytona 500s, and Dale’s 32 wins put him in the top 25 all-time. Jarrett was at his best in the sport’s marquee events. In addition to his triumphs in “The Great American Race,” Jarrett claimed two Brickyard 400s (1996, 1999), the 1996 Coca-Cola 600, 1998 Winston 500 and three Busch Clashes (1996, 2000, 2004).

Tony Schumacher (1969-) — Based on statistics, the son of fellow inductee Don Schumacher (MSHFA Class of 2019) is the best Top Fuel driver there ever was. At the start of 2024, “The Sarge” held the all-time NHRA Top Fuel records for wins (86), poles (62) and championships (8: 1999, 2004-2009, 2014). His 86 wins put him 24 ahead of inductee Larry Dixon Jr. (MSHFA Class of 2021) and almost 30 ahead of his nearest active competitor. His eight titles eclipsed the five won by Joe Amato (MSHFA Class of 2004). In 1999, he became the first to exceed 330 mph in the 1/4 mile competition and made the first 330 mph pass in the 1,000-foot era in 2012. Schumacher made it to the finals of the first event he qualified for, the 1996 U.S. Nationals. His 2008 title run was perhaps the most dominant ever. He won 15 events, including seven in a row, and made 18 final-round appearances.

Bill Stroppe (1919-1995) — Stroppe once joked he was “a can-opener engineer,” but a sharp and inventive mind made him one of the top builders of his time. Stroppe began a long association with Ford after winning the 1947 Henry Ford Memorial Regatta with a Ford flathead-powered boat. Stroppe Lincolns finished 1-2-3 in the stock car class at the ’52 and ’53 Carreras Panamericana. His Mercurys won early ‘60s NASCAR races, the 1963 Pikes Peak Hill Climb and a ‘64 USAC title. But he made his greatest mark in the desert. First, he convinced pal and inductee Parnelli Jones (MSHFA Class of 1992) to go off-road, garnering national attention for the sport. Then he built a series of Broncos that set trends and records, he and Jones winning consecutive Baja 1000s (1971-72).

Related Articles

Back to top button