McLaren Racing to Celebrate Anniversary at Goodwood Festival of Speed

In celebration of its 60th anniversary, McLaren Racing will bring a collection of cars from throughout its racing history to the Goodwood Festival of Speed, event organizers announced.

The collection of cars and drivers includes Mika Häkkinen returning to his 1999 championship-winning MP4/14A, JJ Lehto in Lewis Hamilton’s 2008 MP4/23A-05 championship-winner, and NEOM McLaren Extreme E driver Emma Gilmour taking on the hill in the 1970 Can-Am M8D-01. Emerson Fittipaldi will drive his 1974 M23-05 alongside Emanuele Pirro piloting Prost and Lauda’s MP4/2B-03. The 1988 race winning MP4/4-01 will be on display with the NEOM McLaren Extreme E show car and the Triple Crown liveried show car, the team said.

“Goodwood and the Festival of Speed have such an important place in McLaren’s history. It is the place our story began in many ways, so a fitting place to mark our 60th,” said Zak Brown, CEO, McLaren Racing. “I’m excited to be able to bring such an impressive selection of cars and drivers to celebrate our anniversary in a big way. Our fans are such a huge part of our history; what better way to honour them than giving them the opportunity for a closer look at these icons. It’s going to be a fantastic four days.”

According to event officials, all of the McLaren cars will parade up the hill together in a celebratory run during the event.

A.J. Hecht

A.J. Hecht is the managing editor of THE SHOP and host of the In Gear with THE SHOP podcast. Have an idea, a tip, or a question you’d like to see answered? Contact A.J. at

Related Articles

Back to top button