Maserati Announces Return to Racing

Maserati will make its return to racing next year and is set to debut in the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship in 2023, the Italian automaker announced.

Maserati is the first Italian brand to compete in Formula E and the combination of Maserati’s racing heritage and its attitude towards electrification aligns perfectly with the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, the company said.

All new Maserati models will be available in 100% electric models, including Maserati Grecale, Maserati GranTurismo and GranCabrio and the Maserati MC20 super sportscar, the company announced.

Maserati will debut on the grid from Season 9 with the new Gen3 Formula E racing car ever.

“We are very proud to be back where we belong as protagonists in the world of racing. We are powered by passion and innovative by nature. We have a long history of world-class excellence in competition and we are ready to drive performance in the future,” said Davide Grasso, Maserati CEO. “In the race for more performance, luxury, and innovation, Folgore is irresistible, and it is the purest expression of Maserati. That’s why we decided to go back to racing in the FIA Formula E World Championship, meeting our customers in the city centers of the world, taking the Trident forward into the future.”

Maserati made its racing debut 96 years ago, the company said. The first racing car to bear the Trident logo on the bonnet was the Tipo 26, which debuted at the Targa Florio in 1926, winning first place in the class up to 1.5 L, with Alfieri Maserati at the wheel.

Thirty-one years later, Juan Manuel Fangio won the F1 World Championship with Maserati in 1957.

The last time Maserati was seen in a single seater was with Maria Teresa De Filippis, the first woman to qualify for a Formula 1 Grand Prix, on board of a 250F.

Its last appearance in racing was with the MC12, which won 22 races (including 3 victories in the 24 Hours of Spa) and 14 Championship titles across Constructors’ Championships, Drivers’ Championships and Teams’ Championships in the FIA GT, from 2004 to 2010.

Related Articles

Back to top button