IIHS Strengthens Requirements for Top Safety Pick Awards

IIHS Strengthens Requirements for Top Safety Pick Awards | THE SHOPThe Insurance Institute for Highway Safety is strengthening its requirements for its Top Safety Pick and Top Safety Pick-Plus awards in 2023, the organization announced.

The new standards will require better side crash protection and improved pedestrian crash prevention systems and eliminating subpar headlights from the field of qualifying vehicles.

As a result of the tougher criteria, only 48 models qualify for 2023 awards. Of those, 28 earn Top Safety Pick-Plus and 20 earn Top Safety Pick. This time last year, before changes to the award requirements, there were 101 winners, including 65 earning the higher-tier Top Safety Pick-Plus.

Click here to read about the new requirements from the IIHS.

A.J. Hecht

A.J. Hecht is the managing editor of THE SHOP and host of the In Gear with THE SHOP podcast. Have an idea, a tip, or a question you’d like to see answered? Contact A.J. at

Related Articles

Back to top button