Formula DRIFT Names New President

Formula DRIFT Names New President | THE SHOPFormula DRIFT has promoted Vice President Ryan Sage to the role of president of Formula DRIFT as Jim Liaw moves to a new position at Performance Racing Industry, the series announced.

Although Liaw is relinquishing a position he’s held since 2004, he will remain as a Formula DRIFT board member, focusing his attention on the company’s international and Federation relationships, including the FIA Drifting Commission, the series said.

Sage, who is a co-founder of the Formula DRIFT series with Liaw, has served as the company’s vice-president since 2004. He will take over Jim’s role at the end of the 2021 Formula DRIFT season.

“Jim has been my business partner, and most importantly, my friend for the past 20 years, so I’m excited to see him to take this new path in his life,” said Sage. “He leaves Formula DRIFT with a legacy of helping to build the largest, most respected drifting organization in the world, as well as being at the helm when FD weathered it’s biggest challenges.

“[I] and all the staff will obviously be sad that we won’t see him in the office every day, but we’re also delighted he will retain his board seat and Federation responsibilities,” Sage continued. “We’re also highly motivated to continue applying the principles he instilled in us to take the Series into the future.”

Related Articles

Back to top button