California’s stiffened vehicle exhaust noise-limit law is in full effect. As of Jan. 1, California law enforcement authorities can issue immediate fines up to $1,000. There’s already proof that the state will dish out $1,000 citations, as reported by Speed Society.
The increased enforcement comes after the California Assembly changed the language to an existing law that already limits decimal levels to 95 or lower. The latest version of the law allows traffic officers to immediately impose a fine to motorists with loud exhausts. Officers previously issued “fix-it” tickets, which gave violators 30 days to fix the issue.
SEMA has created a dedicated webpage about the issue.
“The sale and installation of an aftermarket exhaust system remains legal in California, so long as it does not exceed a sound level of 95 decibels when tested under SAE J1169 and complies with all other exhaust and safety laws and regulations,” according to the new SEMA web page about the new rules.
Click for more information.