Baja 1000 by the Numbers

Numbers speak volumes. To describe exactly what happened during last week’s 50th BFGoodrich Tires SCORE Baja 1000, we turn to some interesting statistics:

  • 2 drivers on the winning race team. Carlos “Apdaly” Lopez and his father Juan C. Lopez are the second Mexican Nationals’ son/father team to win the race, joining Gustavo ‘Tavo’ Vildosola Jr. and his father Gustavo Vildosola who accomplished the feat in 2008
  • 3 years of racing in the Baja 1000 was the charm for Team Lopez. The pair finally were victorious after finishing second in 2015 and 2016
  • 57.02-Average speed (mph) registered by Team Lopez in their RPM Racing Chevy Rally Truck
  • 19:53:56-Winning time in hours, minutes and seconds posted by Team Lopez
  • $50,000 given to Team Lopez as the the largest contingency bonus given by BFGoodrich Tires to Team Lopez to celebrate the 50th running of the event
  • 1,134.40-Length in miles of the race course
  • 12:01 a.m.-Time on Nov. 15 when the first green flag dropped to start the race in Ensenada, Mexico
  • 1:43 p.m.-Time on Nov. 18 when the last checkered flag was waved in La Paz, Mexico
  • 47:50-Dean Schlingmann’s finish time in hours and minutes, to be the final participant to officially finish the race
  • 48-Amount of hours racers are given to officially finish the race
  • 79-Age of Rod Hall, who is the only racer to compete in all Baja 1000 races
  • 25-Record number of class wins at the race (including one overall victory in 1969) by Rod Hall, who this year won the Stock Full class in the Rod Hall Racing Hummer H1 Alpha
  • 11-Class wins by Chad Hall, Rod Hall’s son
  • 238-Total number of race finishers
  • 405-Total number of race starters in Pro and Sportsman classes for cars, trucks, UTVs, motorcycles and quads.
  • First-The 2017 Baja 1000 ranked No. 1 in total finishers in the race’s history
  • Third-The 2017 Baja 1000 ranked No. 3 in total entries in the race’s history
  • 300 cars, trucks and UTVs entered in the race
  • 105 motorcycles and quads entered in the race
  • 18-The number racers in the Pro Ironman motorcycle beat out by Jeff Benrud, who won gold for the first time
  • 6-Number of Pro Ironman motorcycle class participants to finish the race out of 19 starters
  • 44-Number of U.S. states and territories represented in the race
  • 27 countries in total participated in the race
  • 49.04-Average finishing percentage in the 50 years of the Baja 1000
  • 29-Overall 4-wheel victories in the last 32 years by BFGoodrich Tires, a long-time SCORE sponsor

Related Articles

Back to top button