Amelia Concours to Honor Jeff Gordon

Amelia Concours to Honor Jeff Gordon | THE SHOPHagerty announced today that NASCAR Hall of Famer and Vice Chairman of Hendrick Motorsports, Jeff Gordon, will serve as honoree of The Amelia, event organizers announced.

The weekend’s events will include a seminar on Saturday featuring Gordon and NASCAR Hall of Fame crew chief Ray Evernham as well as opportunities to meet the driver at Sunday’s concours that will showcase a class of vehicles he drove and won in during his career.

“Jeff embodies the spirit of The Amelia, often referred to as ‘the racer’s concours,'” said McKeel Hagerty, CEO of Hagerty. “His incredible success on the track has made him a household name, but Jeff is more than a legendary driver. His charitable heart is on display at Jeff Gordon Children’s Foundation, where he has led the battle to find a cure for childhood cancer for more than two decades.”

Gordon joins a long line of racing honorees including Sir Stirling Moss (1996 & 2015), Richard Petty (2010), Roger Penske (2020) and Chip Ganassi (2022). Gordon’s former crew chief, Ray Evernham, is an Amelia regular. This year he will lead a discussion on Gordon’s incredible career at Saturday’s seminar “Jeff Gordon: The Hendrick Motorsports Years.”

“Ray and I have talked about me attending The Amelia for years,” Gordon said. “It’s an honor to be recognized at such an incredible event that blends car culture, car enthusiasts, beautiful cars and high-performance vehicles. And for us to be able to showcase cars that have been such a huge part of my career will make the weekend that much more memorable for me.”

From November 1992 through November 2015, Gordon drove for Hendrick Motorsports, winning four NASCAR Cup Series championships (’95, ’97, ’98 and ’01), 93 races and 81 pole positions while scoring 325 top-five finishes and 475 top-10s. With his first title in 1995, he became the youngest champion in NASCAR’s modern era.

Gordon is NASCAR’s winningest driver on road courses (nine wins) and restrictor-plate tracks (12). In January 2017, he became the first NASCAR Cup Series champion to win overall at the 24 Hours of DAYTONA joining A.J. Foyt, Mario Andretti and Jamie McMurray as the only drivers to win the prestigious sports car race and the DAYTONA 500. In February 2019, Gordon was inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

A.J. Hecht

A.J. Hecht is the managing editor of THE SHOP and host of the In Gear with THE SHOP podcast. Have an idea, a tip, or a question you’d like to see answered? Contact A.J. at

Related Articles

Back to top button