1956 Jaguar D-Type Wins Best of Show at The Quail

Competing against a field of over 200 entrants, a 1956 Jaguar D-Type was awarded “Best of Show” at this year’s The Quail, A Motorsports Gathering, event officials announced. The winning vehicle was inducted into the Rolex Circle of Champions alongside the event’s individual class winners.

Owned by William Pope, the 1956 Jaguar D-Type, was selected for the show’s highest honor due to its construction, design, attention to detail, workmanship and extensive restoration process, judges said. Jaguar took victory at Le Mans three years-in-a-row from 1955 – 1957 with the D-Type and it is rumored that only 75 examples were built.

Other award winners announced at 2022’s The Quail, A Motorsports Gathering include:

Spirit of The Quail

1958 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Bertone Sprint Coupe – Dick Mcclure – California

Hagerty Drivers Foundation & Preservation Award        

1972 Ferrari 365 GTB/4 Daytona – Stefano Natoli – California

Octane Choice

1959 Citroën Squall Prototype “The French BAT” – Thomas Hale – Connecticut

ArtCenter College of Design                   

1963 Chevrolet Corvette – Mike Vietro – California

50th Anniversary of the BMW M Division

1980 BMW M1 — Benjamin Clymer – New York

All Things MINI                        

1965 Austin Mini Cooper ‘S’ – Eric Breslow – Nevada

70 Years of Jaguar and their Wins at Le Mans   

1950 Jaguar XK 120 Alloy – Mark Miller – California

Pre-War Sports & Racing Cars                         

1929 Rolls Royce – The Hon. Sir Michael Kadoorie    -Hong Kong

Post-War Sports 1945-1960

1956 Maserati A6G Zagato – David Smith – Washington

Post-War Sports 1961-1975

1964 ATS 2500 GTS – Stephen Bell – Colorado

Post-War Racing

1964 Alfa Romeo TZ – David Eichenbaum – Florida

Evolution of the Supercar

1995 Bugatti EB110SS – Allegra collection – Carlos DeQuesada – Connecticut

The Great Ferraris

1972 Ferrari 365 GTB/4 Daytona – Mike Regalia – California

Sports and Racing Motorcycles

1972 Ducati 750 Imola Racer – Moto Borgotaro – New York

Custom Coachwork

1934 Ford Model 40 Special Speedster – Bruce Wanta – Washington

Car Park Concours de Quailegance

1967 Oilstainlab “Half11” – Iliya and Nikita Bridan – Canada

Three featured classes were celebrated at this year’s event. The “50th Anniversary of the BMW M Division” class showcased the best examples of street and racing vehicles from BMW’s high-performance subsidiary. “All Things MINI” saluted the evolution and heritage of the original Mini Cooper and its many variants created by John Cooper. And “70 Years of Jaguar and Their Wins at Le Mans” commemorated the brand’s seven wins at the endurance race. The special class also marked Jaguar’s first win at the 1951 24 Hours of Le Mans with the iconic Jaguar C-Type Roadster.

A.J. Hecht

A.J. Hecht is the managing editor of THE SHOP and host of the In Gear with THE SHOP podcast. Have an idea, a tip, or a question you’d like to see answered? Contact A.J. at

Related Articles

Back to top button