Team Motive Gear Wins ‘Showdown at SEMA’

Nov 8, 2012

Team Motive Gear from Loara, High School, Anaheim, Calif., won the fourth annual “Showdown at SEMA” Hot Rodders of Tomorrow National Championship at the 2012 SEMA Show, Oct. 29-Nov. 1.

Team Motive Gear won its third straight national championship with an average time of 21:24 minutes. This year, 13 high school auto tech teams competed in the engine teardown and rebuild contest in front of thousands of spectators at the entrance to the SEMA Show, according to a Hot Rodders of Tomorrow press release.

The event’s task resembles teardowns between rounds at drag races. Eight out of the 13 teams earned their way to the “Showdown at SEMA” by winning event competitions throughout the year, while the five additional teams were invited to compete for having the nation’s best qualifying times.

During the national championship, all 13 teams competed four times during the SEAM Show. Each team’s three best scores were averaged at the end of the fourth day to determine the competition’s winner.

Trophies and scholarships were given out Nov. 2 at the Hot Rodders of Tomorrow award presentation. Ohio Technical College, University of Northwestern Ohio and School of Automotive Machinists presented the participants with $1.2 million in scholarship rewards, the release stated.

The final results were:

1. Team Motive Gear from Loara High School, Anaheim, Calif.: 21: 24 minutes
2. Team Energy Suspension from Eastern Oklahoma County Tech Ctr., Choctaw, Okla.: 21:54 minutes
3. Team Mr. Gasket from East Ridge High School, Chattanooga, Tenn.: 22:19 minutes
4. Team Aeromotive from Burton Center for Arts & Technology, Salem, Va.: 24:46 minutes
5. Team Magnaflow from North Orange County ROP, Anaheim, Calif.: 25:35 minutes
6. Team Royal Purple from Elkhart Area Career Center #1, Elkhart, Ind.: 25:50 minutes
7. Team ARP from Elkhart Area Career Center #2, Elkhart, Ind.: 25:53 minutes
8. Team Proform from Peach County High School, Fort Valley, Ga.: 26:14 minutes
9. Team Thermo-Tec from Thomas County Central High School, Thomasville, Ga.: 27:40 minutes
10. Team Edelbrock from Fremd High School, Palatine, Ill.: 28:50 minutes
11. Team Hedman Hedders from Belvidere North High School, Belvidere, Ill.: 31:04 minutes
12. Team MSD from Joliet Central High School, Joliet, Ill.: 32:31minutes
13. Team Painless Performance from Sequoyah High School, Soddy Daisy, Tenn.: 33:46 minutes

Sponsors included: Edelbrock (air cleaners, carbs, aluminum manifolds, heads, water pumps and valve covers); MSD Distributors (wires); K&N (oil filters); Hedman (ceramic headers); TD (timing chain covers); Moroso (oil pans); ARP (head bolts); Fel-Pro/Speed Pro (gaskets and components); Melling (oil pumps); and Royal Purple (lubricants).