SAM to Award $202,000 to Young Engine Builders

Oct 16, 2010

The School of Automotive Machinists will award $202,000 in scholarships to six high school automotive teams competing in the Hot Rodders of Tomorrow National Championship at the SEMA Show.

Team MSD from Eastern Oklahoma Tech Center, Team Auto Meter from Loara High School, Team ARP from East Ridge High School, Team PRW from Fremd High School, Team Edelbrock from North Orange County ROP and Team Painless from Lakeshore High School will square off in the National Championship Playoffs, Nov. 2-5 in Las Vegas, according to a press release.

“SAM is happy to support high school automotive students who are excited about the automotive industry,” said Judson Massingill, founder and director of education at SAM. “This competition is about engine building and that’s what we teach our students to do-build engines that make a lot of horsepower and stay together to win races. We hope these students will continue their automotive training and go on to work in the high-performance and racing industry.”

The School of Automotive Machinists was founded in 1985 by Linda and Judson Massingill. SAM is accredited by the ACCSC and is approved by the Department of Education. The School’s curriculum focuses on the design, theory, machining, building and testing of high performance engines, according to the release.

Organized by the Hot Rodders of Tomorrow, the national championship contest pits the top engine-building teams from six regions of the U.S. in a faceoff at the SEMA Show. Teams must properly disassemble and then reassemble a small-block Chevy engine in the shortest amount of time while avoiding mistakes.