Parts Pro Recognizes Fastest Builds at Hot Rodders Of Tomorrow Championship

Dec 27, 2016

AAM Group, through its Parts Pro marketing program, presented the brand-new Excellence Cup to the fastest overall perfect engine build winner at the Hot Rodders of Tomorrow Dual National Championships in Indianapolis. Team Fragola from Peach County High School in Georgia, coached by Johnny Rickerson, won the trophy.

AAM created The Excellence Cup as a perpetual award that will be kept and displayed by the winning school for one year and then transferred annually to the fastest perfect engine building team among the Elite 8 teams. The base will be inscribed with the team’s name and school of all past winners as a perpetual recognition of their accomplishments.

AAM Program Sales Manager Jerry Simpson presented the awards at the season-finale event conducted at the PRI show. Teams that achieved at least one perfect engine build at one of the Dual National Championship events were awarded a plaque, while the team that clocked the fastest overall perfect engine was awarded with the Excellence Cup.

AAM pledges to honor every team that builds a perfect engine in the Elite 8 Hot Rodder of Tomorrow competitions held at the SEMA and PRI Shows.

“Parts Pro is proud to recognize the teamwork, effort, and skill required to achieve a perfect engine build,”  said Simpson of AAM Group. “A remarkable seven of the eight teams competing had at least one perfect build and six of those seven had two of three rounds judged perfect. Parts Pro wanted to recognize this extraordinary display of quality consistency, and commitment.

“Award winners include the Howard’s Cams team of Belvidere North High School, the first all-girl team to make Dual Championship and builders of four perfect engines during the two competitions! We are honored to work with these inspiring students, and hope this recognition will encourage future participating teams to aspire to the highest levels of precision, pride, and expertise in our industry.”

Elite 8 Perfect Engine Build Honorees

  • Team Fragola, Peach County High School, Georgia; Instructor Johnny Rickerson)
  • Team Aeromotive, Fremd High School, Illinois; Instructor Steven Elza
  • Team Be Cool, Elkhart Area Career Center, Indiana; Instructor Ryan Gortney
  • Team Comp Cams, Burton Center for Arts & Technology, Pennsylvania; Instructor Chris Overfelt
  • Team Holley, Forsyth Central High School, Georgia; Instructor Marlo Miranda
  • Team Howards Cams, Belvidere North High School, Illinois; Instructor Jill Arata)
  • Team Taylor, Fremd High School, Illinois; Instructor Steven Elza