Naming the Latest Automotive Aftermarket Scholarship Recipients

Aug 31, 2015

Two students were selected for scholarships awarded in honor of George Legal, chairman of ASA/Sanel, who passed away in August 2014.

Recipients of the $1,000 scholarship awards from the University of the Aftermarket Foundation include:

  • Nicholas Conti of Falconer, N.Y., who attends  Alfred State in the automotive service technician program
  • Michael deMontigny of Frenchville, Maine, who attends Northern Maine Technical College in the diesel hydraulics program.

“Our dad spent his career in the automotive aftermarket-he grew up in the business. He really enjoyed being with customers, suppliers and team members,” said Bobby Segal, COO and treasurer of ASA/Sanel Auto Parts. “These scholarships are a fitting tribute to his memory and an investment in the future of the industry.”

MAPSA Scholarships

Meanwhile, the Midwest Automotive Parts & Service Association (MAPSA) named four recipients of its scholarship for the 2015-2016 academic year. The recipients include:

  • Tyler Washington ($1,000 scholarship) of New Albany, Ohio, who attends Capital University
  • Austin Evans ($500 scholarship) of Westerville, Ohio, who attends Arizona State University
  • Natalie Menke ($500 scholarship) of Stow, Ohio, who plans to attend either Hiram College or Mount Union College.
  • Randall Miller ($250 scholarship) of Gay, West Virginia, who attends Marshall University.

Applicants for MAPSA scholarships were taken through the Global Automotive Aftermarket Symposium (GAAS) Scholarship website,

“The students selected for MAPSA scholarships exemplify the outstanding applications received this year through the online application process,” said Pete Kornafel, chairman of the GAAS scholarship committee. “Through the efforts of MAPSA and other regional associations, along with the supporters of the automotive scholarship fund, we are able to assist many students pursuing their dreams of higher education.”