Mickey Thompson Wins Shav Glick Award

Apr 22, 2013

Marion “Mickey” Thompson was selected as the 2013 winner of the Justice Brothers-Shav Glick award.

Ed Justice Jr., president and CEO of Justice Brothers, a manufacturer and distributer of industrial lubricants and cleaners based in Duarte, Calif., presented the award during the pre-race ceremonies at the 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Auto Club 500, March 24 at Fontana Speedway, according to a Justice Brothers press release.

Thompson was nominated and selected by a judging panel that included national and California motorsports writers. A notable driver, mechanic and designer of high-performance vehicles of all kinds, Thompson became involved in drag racing in his early 20s. He was ranked No. 11 on a list of the top-rated drivers from 1951 to 2000 by the NHRA, and set more speed and endurance records than any other person in automotive history at the time.

Additionally, Thompson was the first American to break the 400-mph speed barrier during the 1960 Bonneville time trials and designed several Indy 500 race-winning vehicles. He was inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame in 1990.