Michigan Racer Wins $20,000 Engine

Nov 19, 2010

A Benton Harbor, Mich., racer recently won a new race engine valued at more than $20,000 during the season wrap-up promotion at US 131 Motorsports Park in Martin, Mich.

Dave Lorentz says winning the 565-ci BBC motor in the Engine Pro-Dart Machinery-Performance Engineering Engine Giveaway will make it possible for him to move from his 1970 Nova into a dragster, according to a press release.

This is the third year that Engine Pro, Dart Machinery and Performance Engineering have teamed up with other engine parts suppliers to give away a racing engine at the popular racing venue. The track’s general manager, Jason Peterson, says the promotion provides a big incentive for racers.

“This year we saw such strong support from the bracket racers. With over 200 bracket cars at nearly every race in these economic times, our racers are dedicated to us and our sponsors and we truly value each one,” he said.

The engine that Lorentz won contains a U.S.-made block, CNC heads and manifold supplied by Dart Machinery; JE pistons, a Melling Performance billet oil pump, Hastings Racing performance piston rings, Oliver billet performance connecting rods, ARP fasteners, Ferrea performance valves, Comp Cams valve train products, a SCAT performance crankshaft, Mahle-Clevite engine bearings, Victor Reinz performance gaskets, and a performance oil pan from Stef’s Performance/B&B Performance.

Performance Engineering built the engine at its Jenison machine shop. Pro Finish Powder Coating powder-coated various parts of the engine, and Scott Diehl of Joe Gibbs Racing contributed racing oil for the promotion.

The runner-up in the giveaway was Randy Nellis of Muskegon, Mich., who was awarded a $250 gift certificate from Pro Finish. Third-place finisher was Roger Keifer of Bremen, Ind., who went home with a six-switch panel courtesy of R&R Wireloom.

To determine eligibility, each racer entered into the track’s bracket racing series in either the Top ET or Modified class. Finalists were determined by taking the top 10 racers in point standings in each class at the end of the season. Winners were determined by a random drawing in a “last person standing” contest, with Engine Pro’s Tom Stuyvesant drawing the names from a box.

Previous winners were Justin Wanamaker of Kalamazoo, Mich., and Dennis Geeting of Muskegon, Mich.