Gerbers Named 2009 Goodguys Trendsetters

Jan 2, 2010

Phil and Jeremy Gerber of the Roadster Shop were presented with the Goodguys Trendsetter award at this year’s SEMA Show in Las Vegas. The award is presented annually to rising young talents in the realm of rod and custom car building.

Together with their father, Neal, the Gerber’s took ownership of The Roadster Shop in Elgin, Ill., in 2004 to expand the company’s product line and raise the bar for Midwestern hot rodding, according to a press release. While developing new lines of chassis and components, the Gerbers discovered the burgeoning performance muscle car and street machine market and jumped in headfirst.

In 2006, a brilliant orange, ground-hugging 1966 Chevelle, complete with a custom chassis designed and built in-house, launched a new line of products and a new company-RS Performance Concepts. The Chevelle raised eyebrows throughout the industry and in the magazines and requests from customers for complete turnkey cars soon followed suit.

In 2007, a bright green ’70 Chevelle served as RS Performance Concepts’ lab rat, furthering the performance and design capabilities of the Gerber brothers as well as allowing them to compete in the Goodguys’ popular Street Challenge Autocross events. That year, the company also moved to its all-new 30,000-square-foot state-of-the-art facility in Mundelein, Ill.

This year the Gerbers debuted the 1962 Corvette “C1RS” at the Goodguys PPG Nationals in Columbus, Ohio. Built and designed completely in-house, the Formula 1 racing-inspired Corvette won the Street Challenge Autocross and was named the unanimous winner of the Goodguys/Air Ride Technologies 2009 Street Machine of the Year.

Current projects at the Roadster Shop and RS Performance Concepts include a ’70 Challenger with a 528-inch aluminum Hemi, a ’69 Charger with a twin-turbo Viper engine, a ’31 Model A five-window on deuce rails, a Speed ’33 roadster with hand-fabricated aluminum track nose and injected nail head, and others.

Past recipients of the Goodguys Trendsetter Award include Chip Foose, Troy Trepanier, Alan Johnson, Eric Peratt, Tim Strange, Dave Lane, Zane Cullen, Dean Livermore, Jesse Greening, Troy Ladd and J.F. Launier.